The ass and the nightingale

Àëåêñ Äàéõåñ
THE ASS AND THE NIGHTINGALE

Browsing into the woods, the Ass,
Impertinent, cocksure, and crass,
Chanced upon our Nightingale.

Ass brayed, “Listen, friend,
From people, speaking of your brand,
(I swear on my tail)
I’ve heard a tale:
You’re the greatest singer on all Earth,
So let me hear, what’s really your worth.

Show me the voice, which others call divine.
With ears strong and large as mine
One cannot a better judge assign!”

The Nightingale, first cleared his beak, 
Then with all his talent and technique,
Let soar his song, so gorgeous and unique.

And when the Nightingale his closed bill,
In awesome thrill
The charmed dale stood still,
Until…
A wasp stung Ass’ fatty butt
To woke the “esthete”, snoring hard.
Ass yawned, shaking off the drowse,
And opened hís capacious mouth,

“To tell you the unblemished truth,
Your singing is truly very nice.
Yet I’ve found false and some uncouth.
It’s a pity. Yet I’ll help you. Being wise,
I have for you one practical advice:

Go, listen to the Rooster’s tender trill,
His lessons will enhance your power and skill.”

Having received the sentence, our Nightingale
Had left forever the delightful dale.

***
O mighty G-d, your name we bless,
Save us from judges like this Ass.