Среди миров

Алекс Дайхес
Annenski, Innokenti F
(1856 – 1909, Russian poet/translator)


AMIDST THE MULTITUDE OF WORLDS

Amidst the hosts // of glimmering stars of night,
Of only One // I’ll give you name // and reason.
It’s not because // I’m ‘n love // with Her eternal light,
Because with others // I’m in darkness // like ‘n a prison.

If there’s a burden // on my heart // and strife,
She is the solely // one, // who for advice // I call.
But not because // She lights my life,
Because // with her // I need no light // at all.

April 3, 1909 Tzarskoye Selo

Translated from Russian


***

СРЕДИ МИРОВ

Среди миров, в мерцании светил
Одной Звезды я повторяю имя...
Не потому, чтоб я Ее любил,
А потому, что мне темно с другими.

И если мне сомненье тяжело,
Я у Нее одной ищу ответа,
Не потому, что от Нее светло,
А потому, что с Ней не надо света.

3 апреля 1909, Царское Село