The opposite of...

Анастасия Гарситер
“The opposite of love is not hate, it's indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it's indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it's indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it's indifference.”  Elie Wiesel


When I first came across this quote I thought it’s a little weird. Then I decided to find out some data about the author of these words. When I read his biography I thought, this man must have known something more than I do about this life before writing this. Now I know Elie was totally right, at least for the first half of this quote (I am still not sure about the last two). Love and art are so close to each other when one thinks of it, much closer than one can imagine. It is really hard to find two people on the earth with absolutely similar perception of art. The same is about love. If you found one you are lucky. If you did not, well, you can still pretend you did… or be indifferent. Whenever you decide to do so you need to be very careful as the most disgusting trick the fate could play with us happens much more frequently than one could imagine. As soon as you keep pretending up to the point that not only everyone else but even you truly believe that you found the right person and you even start losing your own perceptions of life (as this is the real cost of pretending too long) at the expense of complete assimilation… guess what? You meet the right person…