The crew 4

Поправкин
I was not  called in Moscow. The limit of registration was still a problem for me.
In fact, both Ivanovich, both the members of the Communist Party since the time of the of Kulikov's Battle , like all normal people wanted money. And  my limitation was so great that I could not understand the uniqueness of that moment . My limitation was so vast that I had not even the thoughts about the money. So, I was returned the documents in September, finally convinced that I absolutely do not understand the uniqueness of the moment.
The spring was coming to the end, and in it was finishing  the year of my " punishment." I was sent to take exams on the first class. Two navigator with me had gone  The examinations for the First Class is very serious. That was akin to enroll in any university. Five years ago it was even harder. Then though exam questions appeared , and it was possible to know that they can ask.  Anyway   they could  asked by tickets and could  not ask by tickets. When I was driving , for example, I could draw block diagram of locator  from memory. Maybe it is not required, but I could. I could do and more, but it was still a little scary . I , personally, would be ashamed if I would not pass the exams . But the devil is not so bad as he is painted . But everybody passed all the exams ! Holiday and joyful return. I strictly followed the program. By 30 years I had the First Class! Now I could fly on any technique !
At the end of May, we were flying to Leningrad. As always, there were 80 passengers - completely. Suddenly, a knock on the cockpit door , and Fomenko standing in the doorway , smiling shyly . Now he run and lead a program on television, and then he sang, and played well in the group "Secret" . In Arkhangelsk, he flew on tour .
He delighted  looked like we work and offered me an autograph. I told him my testimony navigator 2nd class gave and he wrote : " Greetings from the Secret." In June, while I was still 30 years old , I was given a certificate of class 1 , but the old certificate I still kept !
In early June, had come my Dutch friend Edwin with his girlfriend Elsa in Leningrad. I had met with him a year ago in Leningrad quite  accidently  and after one year he tells me about his arrival. Edwin - historian and  studied and wrote books about Russian - Dutch relations era of Peter I. I invited him in Arkhangelsk, but at this time, the dollar began to rise and the dollar began to give 6 rubles. Edwin initially delighted to Arkhangelsk ticket cost 20 rubles, or $ 3.3 , and then upset to learn that the ticket is actually $ 50 and decided not to fly . At this time, I came to the management of Civil Aviation.
The head of our department was Boris Z.I told him the problem and that it must be solved within 1-2 days. What Boris said to me that there is no time at all, a little pause, he added: "Don't you know what to do?" Of course, I understood everything and did everything right.
We arrived  to Peter before 15-20 minutes than I asked. (We were changed the flight number not change the plane) Edwin and Elsa had already been to say me Goodbye and I just told them that they had only  5 minutes to make a decision, and things and documents my guys bring them in the evening.  I knew all the loopholes and drag Edwin and Elsa did not present much difficulty in Pulkovon.In the evening, Sasha Chernov were transferred items and documents, when he had arrived in Leningrad several hours later.
I showed the guests everything in Arkhangelsk, All museums and the place where Ivan Ryabov (in 1701, in July 5 he helped Russian Army in the North War) Swedish squadron led on the shoal. And a box of vodka from Baku in our kitchen was under the table.
Easily  they flew back. Then Edwin said that the whole of Europe he hitchhiking passed, and in Russia also hitchhiking using the planes!
What kind of people were around!
I liked to fly to Tashkent! The flights started not too late , the landing in Chelyabinsk brought
us more money from those who flew to warmer climes without tickets , good leisure facilities in Profilaktory with the  park nearby, cheap market , flight back already drawn by the upper limbs , but with a sense of debt.
I did not remember if I  met the thunderstorm  . But we always had a fun time in Tashkent , will not be forgotten ! There is perhaps nothing better than to get together at one table to people who performed his job well, who have no problems  and that , indeed, respect each other!
In late of August, from Moscow  my documents retuned back and I realized that no need to be in a hurry
Two navigators had gone a few months ago, without any support in my native Leningrad  . I miss the moment!. But it was too late.
I was so upset that my "crystal" dream of a very large planes carrying on its wings "friendship of the great Soviet people" collapses that when we flew in Naryan-Mar, I had not checked the inclusion ILS(instrumental landing system) and made the NDB approach as well as on ILS. That Captain only surprised  that we approached NDB, but not ILS!(We flew about such a way. It was easier if you have а special marks on the table and on the table if your head below or higher of the glass . Instrumental Landing System (ILS) But there were no such equipment on the most part of the Nort’s airports.
The main was NDB approach (using beacons)
It was necessary to know how you go on the course and glide path and for this it was necessary to count a lot. From To start working in Arkhangelsk in August 1981)
But I had made the approach like in the system, so Alexander only wondered what ILS was not included.
At the beginning of September, just before our flight to Leningrad, where I had to meet my parents and to recieve a bag full of food, because in Arkhangelsk was nothing to eat, Lenar came up to me . He served as navigator of the unit and said to me that as I was not going to Moscow, then maybe I agree to retrain on the Tu-154. My candidacy, it turned out, was approved in the management of documents it was ready and left to go crazy selection.
To get to the Tu-154 in the USSR, it was necessary to have a college degree, at least second class, that  needed 3000 hours in the air. In Arkhangelsk, everybody  had higher education, then had the First  class and spotless reputation. I had everything  and I had already so tired from their morally futile attempts to get to Moscow or Leningrad.  I did not like Tu-154, She did not  not have a "office" and She was absolutely not intended for NDB, locator needed to reach. Shorter An-24, with twice of the speed. True, and She could fly almost at 5,000 kilometers.
But even Luda said that the role of the navigator on the Tu-134 is more noticeable. In general, only one circumstance and spoke in favor of the 154th - I flew on 134 for 8 years and it's time  to change  the "horse". I agreed, and my parents were the first to know about future change.
Of course, I would like to retrain  in  summer when I'll be with Luda
But everything should be done in time and I had been ready.
The next day, we were getting ready to fly to Moscow. Again, I was met by Lenar.
- We are going to fly to Scandinavia, and I heard That you know English, you do not mind whether the participation in it, and that to the 154th, it will go later. But we must take a test in English and English courses for the first time we began in Arkhangelsk.
This option was absolutely wonderful and I agreed without any hesitations.
In a very rainy day in mid-September, when a good boss will not let the dog for a walk, I was going to test. Along the way, checking the mailbox, I finally received a letter from Scott, who had wrote me only from September to April, and even reading it came to testing. The tests were extremely simple for me and I became absorbed in the reading  the letter from Scott. In general, as appeared, the English  knew only me and my authoritative Alexander L.
The courses English phraseology "Sky Talk" should begin in a few weeks and suddenly I was sent to vacations.
I came to the detachment commander, Boris P., trying to figure out what was wrong. Boris was silent, but at the same time, appeared from somewhere some person that I saw for the second time in my life and became to prove to me that there was no guarantee that retrain me I would  not run away to Peter. That mister  was as appeared deputy commander of the unit. It turned out that Vasya Popel, popularly elected by us leader, had been dismissed! His former deputy. has now become the commander of, and that  gentleman  after studying at the Academy, and became his deputy.
The Arkhangelsk  airline began to divide on the airport and airline. Now every pilot had more freeloaders. So I went to find the truth in our main department. Lykov Nikolai Pavlovich was the chief navigator of Arkhangelsk  enterprise, a very serious man.
I had come and  said. And Nikolai Pavlovich said to me:
- Did you try to go to Peter?
- But Leningrad is my Motherland I like my home is not a twitch?
- And in Moscow?
- I very wanted to fly through the ocean, and I had a chance.
- And if we retrain you, where is the guarantee that you will not go again
- Who could, they already there, and I was already tired to go in line after them.
- Well, are  going to send study English in Leningrad, where the group from Kotlas was already studying. I'll call Boris. Go to the detachment.
I was very happy and went to the detachment. The Commander Detachment Boris Mikhailovich could not call to the commander of Kotlas enterprise  and offered it to me.. I  was a little stunned by this. At this moment our deputy had come and started shouted that our people in the  Academy in  Leningrad with Kotlas's airmen will not be ride  since we had opened ourselves these courses and then Kotlas's airmen  would start to study English free that a lot of money.
This carve was completely incomprehensible for me, moreover, it has become like a ravings, so I left the office the detachment commander, tightly closing the door so that the plaster began to crumble.
I went out into the middle of corridor , where the owning of the new airline Arkhangelsk Airlines had already finished and started the owning the airlines North, which has on the operation of aircraft An-26. No, but you know, that was a single squadron combined with the AN-24, AN-26 and Tu-134, on the board, which was written  Aeroflot. That was divided into 3 detachments. It was respectively 392, 422 and 312. I went out to this middle and lit a cigarette. I had stood, smoked, trying to understand something.
Suddenly the commander of airline North goes. He was my good  familiar. He    told me that they would receive IL-76. It's such a big transport plane with 4 jet engines. And such young guys with first class and higher education, and had been flown on the Tu-134, like me, will be  needed very much! Suggested that I wrote a report for retraining. That report was No 1.
The mood was wonderful . In fact, IL-76 were purchased by Cherepovets Steel Mill and "noses were already turned to the Archangel."
As I was asked to go on the vacations I flew to Leningrad.
When I arrived in Leningrad, to my Mother and Father then almost immediately the phone rang. It was Andrew R. He told me that in Peter were raised the case of 1985, and remembered about me and had said  to Andrew to find me and to tell me immediately to go to the commander of Leningrad Enterprise .
In general,that was the situation: I was written report on IL-76,.The same time I had to fly to Scandinavia, and I was offered a Tu-154. I  had already an apartment in Arkhangelsk and all my friends were there, in Arkhangelsk. How Luda looked on this relocation. On the other side my parents, my favorite city, my Motherland, lack of apartments and tail of the queue for those who  easily moved back in 85. What to do?
Through Peace Square (Haymarket) I went to the exchange bureau to find out about the possibility of exchanging the apartments in Arkhangelsk, to something in St. Petersburg and then went to the commander Leningrad Enterprise .
That time it was not possible to buy a flat. One of that nonsense.
It was a special norma of square meters for person.
I was met by commander well and had knew that I would not have any problems with translation in Leningrad  (I had translation in Sheremetyevo ) he just asked when I would get into work.
- A month later - I answered.
- Why? - He asked.
- The commander had vacation, and without him I will not be free.
In fact, I had already tired. I had tired of hopes and promises , so I decided to neglect all.
I had a good rest. My friend Dima returned from France and we spent with him all the time listening Pink-Floyd, drinking coffee and talking. The time passed quickly and quietly.
And I returned in Arkhangelsk. November had started and everywhere was clean snow. As always a little work. I was not sent on English courses as well as Tu-154. and Il-76 still stood nose to us in Arkhangelsk
Luda said to me that time "Better to be  а stranger among strangers, than a stranger among our own people", and my work was in full swing. If you not  send me to retrain, I am going away! Here is my translation!
- But This is transfer to Moscow!
- But I have already gone!
I've seen with a lawyer with the question of the difference between dismissal and transfer
- Working for three months. But if you are coming to study or change the place of residence, then the dismissal is granted without working of 3 months at the time you specified. – it was the answer.
I've turned into the fight, and even known that I had been rot on the Tu-134, when they learned that I can go on the IL-76 to the airline "North".
I wanted only one thing - interesting work. I was already 31!
Once, a Head of Arhangel Civil Aviation BI Zadorin took me before my place (he was on the car and I was in the same direction) . He was wonderful person. He offered me his help, but the point of no returned  had been already had been past and the kemberlit  tube with  their diamonds in the Arkhangelsk region did not touch me as bright prospects in a whole.
Only now the taking of diamonds are in progress.
I was very sad. My friends, rebirth, happy ten years we spent here, the born of a child in Arkhangelsk and the place where I had learned to fly ...
I lost my crew, I was leaving my friends. Igor Miroshnik and Sasha  Yermolayev.
I had written about Igor but had not written about Sasha.
Sasha. had flown in another crew and navigator there was Alexander Lesov, which was  my role model
Sasha. came to Arkhangelsk, as I did, but after the  High  flight school in Aktubinsk on the Tu-134, and we had met and became friends in  85 year.
Sanya is very large and very good-natured. When Alexander Lesov  had gone on the vacations for a month, I flew in his crew. I flew, apparently very well that even their commander Anatoly Andreevich Taranenko said  about me flattering on the analysis of the flights . It was very interesting to fly with Sasha  and a lot he showed to me! Sasha then transitioned on  the Tu-154, but our friendship had lasted for a long time. I was in Leningrad, and Sasha had flown in Domodedovo and he did not get out the cockpit almost. 
 First they flew, and then unloaded the plane. Smelly, primitive capitalism came and that says it all ...
But with him humanely did. Before throw him out, he was given 200 hours to reach  the pension. Then Sasha was working someone  in night clubs  and after 2000, he came to us in Pulkovo and now flies  commander on the Tu-154!
But the choice had been already done.  I signed the report on the dismissal through transport prosecutor's office.
I would like to go with the translation. (transfer )
The main chief Economist, within three days, under control, instructed to calculate how much is cost  the navigator of the 1 class with all tolerances, etc., etc..
The Chief Economist Nesiforov as the first day was sitting, rocking in his chair.
- I do not know how to count, there is nо technique.
- Write what I cost 10000.
- Well, ten thousand, you bent.
- Well, write 30000.
- Let me write that your price is 50,000.
It was amusing to watch it all. After installed cost, my report is presented of itself the paper where on the top it was resolution of the Chiefs in Petersburg to "take", and at the bottom of this unique document "Release, after payment of 50,000 rubles per one navigator of 1 class." VS Antropov was the commander of Arkhangelsk enterprise, who is very business-like attitude to my cost and threw me: "Go, go"
I said to him: "I've got money in a plastic bag to carry or what? And in general, can I ask them a little more money in addition, because except of the apartment on the North I have nothing. "
- You will make the first contract, but after really will talk.
In St. Petersburg, everybody were stunned by this document and away from sin even took me to work on November 30, on Sunday, and in Arkhangelsk fired Nov. 29 on Saturday. A very active role in this was played by Valentin Yermolaev, which was at that time the commander of Leningrad. enterprise, and  later he even called economists and sent me in Arkhangelsk, with the task to sign transfer retroactively, because I could lose all length of service, which has worth on a box of cognac!
With this task I managed documents and I got into Peter even by translation.
The whole crew was come to say me goodbye  . Alexander Volkov, Sergey Ponomarev, Mikhalych - Mikhail Chepurnov. We "flew", talked, and little drank. They presented on the memory a picture of our Sea and on the reverse side wrote: "Alex! Do not forget that there is a slice of heaven on earth, a piece of a piece of land and water, as well as comrades who remember you in our Arkhangelsk. "
Sasha had died and I did not attend on his funeral. He was not even 50. After my departure, he flew for another year and a half, and gastric ulcer developed into the cancer.
Sergey and Mihalych were cut before Sergey the entry into  commanders. (When people have nothing to eat, what were flights!) Sometimes Sergei and Mikhailovich  come to me, sometimes I flew to them. And when I was "killed" in Moscow on the Civil Aviation Highest Medical Expert Commission.  Serge called me in the hospital every day to maintain morale. In the hospital, of course, very indignant about the numerous calls to me, and then just started asking to call in the evening.