So important greetings

Åêàòåðèíà Áîðè÷åâñêàÿ
      Many years ago, when people did not know why they should say unnecessary words and expressions just for being polite, they used simple and easy ways to show their sympathy or good willing to each other – they waved hands when saw people at first time on a day and at second, third, … and so on.
   One young fellow, whose name was Eric and whose roots led to rich people in the past but in his existing his family was poor already, went to the bakery “osy’s” to buy some cakes. It happened so rarely and that’s why it was such a perfect day for him! Rolls, buns and sweet bread were very tasty there. He came into the bakery and waved hands as a greeting to a man who worked there. But the man looked very strange at Eric and didn’t wave to him in reply. Eric thought to himself , “So strange baker, so rude and impolite. All right, I won’t pay attention to these stupid details. I want just to buy a cake for my cakes day”.
- Dear baker, give me a cake, please, I can pay today. – said Eric.
- No, go away, please, from my bakery. – answered the baker.
- Why? Are you new here and don’t know that though I look so poorly I can pay for cakes? – Eric was close to cry, he’s not used to such rudeness before. 
- I’m from the North, dear fellow, and can’t give cakes to such impolite people like you are.
- Me? You didn’t wave to me, I did!
- Wave? Who waved?
- Me.
- Why? When?
- As soon as I came into your bakery I waved to you as a greeting. I wish you “good day” if you want to hear that.
- Fine, sorry, I’m just a little hard-of-seeing. I didn’t notice your waving. What cake do you wish?
      A smile appeared on Eric’s face and he began ordering five cakes but after counting his money he ordered only four ones.
      Pleased with what he bought, Eric went out of the bakery and went along the wide street full of sunlight and people around. Suddenly the fellow saw across the street a girl of his dream, so slim and easygoing, so perfect-faced and smiling so tenderly! He was conquered with her and couldn’t even to come closer. He was poor and she was the same, he could say so because of her clothes, but she was so rich in her appearance… He waved to her, she noticed. He waved again but she didn’t reply the same. He became so sad and serious that stopped in the center of the road and the carriage almost run him over.
       He recovered at the doctor’s. The doctor was looking at him with a hope and gladness and that girl was standing near-by the bed Eric was on. He got happy. The girl sat on the bed and asked, “Why did you do that? You’re so young, all your troubles will be seemed you just a trifle after several days. Why to die?”   Eric surprised and answer, “No, I didn’t want it, I just was looking at you and the carriage run me over. You didn’t give your greeting to me and I became sad because of this fact.” “Me? I waited you to look at me and come closer but you didn’t.” – the girl told. “Oh! Don’t lie, please, I waved you twice however you didn’t reply the same.” “I just can’t see into long distances, maybe this misunderstanding occurred because of it?” . “Maybe, sweet girl, I’m sorry, now afterwards I always will come to all people and the girls I’ll like and say them “How ideal! No! ‘HI’!” - very loudly because they can be also hard-of-hearing.” “No, you won’t, now I’m the girl whom you liked and I forbid you to say ‘hi’ to other girls.” - said the girl and they smiled.
      So, it’s really not hard to say “Hi” to all people around, and the fellow understood it. Who could know – how important a greeting can be!