The Most Handsome

Ñâåòà Ôåéõè
                ïåðåâîä:  http://www.proza.ru/2014/07/08/1806

When I saw you were dazzlingly handsome.
When you smiled you were stirringly handsome.
When you were silent you were mysteriously handsome.
When I loved you became entrancingly handsome.
And I was jealous, when you were awfully handsome.
But when I have known you in reality, you turn to be unusually handsome very dear and darling.

      And that is you: so exiting, charming fascinating and constantly transforming. You let your hair be long, giving freedom to them and at the same time to yourself without thinking about them in your wandering around the world. And they were flying in the wind like a spirit of Pilgrim in your heart.  And you were so attractive. At night they were quiet and set off your neck so beautifully; they fell on your shoulders, when you fell asleep somewhere at the end of the Universe in a tent, putting off your heavy boots.
      Then you cut them, and put on dark-blue official suit that fitted you, put on glasses, and became so imposing, when you knitted your brows; it was a strict beauty. And you read Constitution in the Congress with real responsibility; I didn’t see you in that image hitherto. I was delighted as you were splendid and I got used to your new clean-shaven specious image. And suddenly I didn’t find you in your study where you used to be reading books and thinking last time. When I came home I found you in the garden. You were lying in the open air, with your hands under your head, looking dreamy at fluffy snow-white clouds, sliding in the sky. You heart was relaxing, pouring under that sweet checkered shirt. Your bristle which you didn’t shave in the morning was shining like gold sand under the sunny shade, hanging under boundless dome of transparent air. You noticed me and smiled slowly spreading your wonderful wet lips. Under the waves of beautiful eyebrows soft light-blue specks of light were shining on your eyelids. And I saw a boat in that image, it was shaken by the sudden wind and there came rounds from it on the water, touching the wonderful heavens in your deep blue eyes. I understood: you were in another reality; I didn’t bother you and you “floated on that boat together with the clouds”.
     After some time you appeared in a hammock, swinging between the pear tree and the apricot tree, you were lulled and fell asleep. I admired your wonderful transformation for some days… Days went on. Your hair was growing long and waving beautifully around your face of “Adonis”.  The whole garden was overgrown and through interlacement of different kinds of grass there can be seen splendid bright sports of daisies, cornflowers, bluebells, poppies and violets, making a picturesque rainbow carpet. Sometimes I noticed your movements, but you didn’t move into long distances, you were limited by the territory of our estate. From the pavilion, where I worked on one more “creation”, hiding from the sun, and guessing about content of my formless “vases” which I put under the straight stream of thoughts outside, I couldn’t see you because of high grass. Only chirr of grasshoppers was heard in afternoon haze. It was very melodious and tenderly for ear and its charming roulades were modulating everywhere. I worked my way through thick rustling green “sea”, frightening dragonflies, which were flying like little helicopters and beautiful butterflies, moving on the grass. They started to fly like a flock of little birds and flew away. Sounds disappeared too. It was silent and mysterious. There were only you and me. Your face was sun burnt, but your eyebrows became lighter and the ends of your long eyelashes became lighter too. You were so handsome like an Old Russian knight, deeply sleeping after a long battle. There wasn’t only your true battle horse for making a complete image. It wasn’t in “an inner porch”, and its silver panel was shining there reflecting rays, which were falling through half opened door of garage. I put off my veil and stretched it out over you, knotting its ends at branches of the trees. I hid your face from the loving sun so that you didn’t burn.
     It was evening. Bright stars were appearing one after another, the darker the evening was the more stars were in the sky. And they all were looking at you with the same delight as I was, because I couldn’t look at you in another way. The dark sky covered by silver placer was magnificent. It took my breath away, when I looked at that grand beauty. You closed your eyes; passion was shining in them like a tender light. You embraced me. Your breath was beautiful, strong and tender. And your arms were beautiful too: the line of perfect shoulders, long forearms, wide warm palms. You had splendid chest, magnetic neck, chin in the form of heart, voluptuous lips, which covered me with kisses. I sank in your exceptional beauty.
      I woke up in my bed in the morning. On the table covered by white tablecloth that was hanging almost to the floor, there was a zinc basket, shining by its salient bright surface, with a pretty picturesque bunch of flowers from our garden. I was delighted and touched the flowers. They smelled well and tickled my face. I called you. The house was silent. I looked into the garden and didn’t recognize it. The grass was mowed down. Straight paths, made of expensive stone, separated the ground into neat green lawns. In the center there were bushes of white and red roses. I forgot about them, they were all in blossom and showed their beauty. I saw that the garage door was closed: you had gone away, nobody knew where, on your “Maserati”. There was a note on the table near the flowers with address; I didn’t notice it at once, written by very elegant and pretty handwriting and a ticket to Hawaii.
      I didn’t know how you would look like then, but without doubt you would be charming, fascinating, wonderful, splendid, dazzling, captivating, bewitching, breathtaking, exciting, mysterious, incomparable, adorable, stirring, striking, divine, admirable, exceptional, magnificent and very handsome!