Lord of the Forest

Ñèñòåìàèçì
Medvedev Dmitriy: http://www.proza.ru/2013/07/25/630


I wonder how and I wonder why, but it was the Rabbit who won the elections for the post of the Forest Lord. First thing he did was to move into a huge cave- not because he needed, but because it befitted the rank. Second thing- set a working office in the same cave, in order to receive visitors with requests and suggestions. At the same evening, the Fox rushed in.

“Oh, glorious ruler, accept my sincerest congratulations!” It sing-songed sweetly. “Please, grant me a position in the Ministry of Bird-Watching, because those partridges and grouses have lost all semblance of shame. I’ll see that they toe the line! They’ll bring you berries, will set your carrot plot and will cover the advertising for your next elections. Vote for the Rabbit, Master of the Forest, he’s one of you, or something of the sorts!”

“Master of the Forest, say you?” The Rabbit allowed himself to dream of it. “Fine, take that flying mess off my back, but make sure that every sparrow knows that it’s me, the Rabbit, who’s the best ruler.”

“Will PR as you are, Your Majesty.” The Fox smiled, grabbed the new decrees with the needed stamping, and slipped through the door.

A while later, the Wolf came by to see the Rabbit.

“Listen, boss,” He started, while setting himself on the edge of the magnificent government table. “I know you’re the top dog in town, and you call the shots, but hear this: a dog needs his pack, and to mind the others’ rank. I mean, let me call the shots about the deer and boars. I mean, they’re out of control, running wild without any semblance of order! As for my part, rest assure that we’ll have your forest safe and secured. We’ll deal with the weak and sick, the way only we, the health-guard of the forest can. And if anyone isn’t happy about it, we’ll have him over for a chat.”

“Yeah, sure, whatever you want.” The Rabbit babbled, moving as far from the predators teeth as he could and pulling out fresh forms with his new signature. “We’ll have it set in the best way possible. But do remind them, that it’s only happening by the will of the Forrest Lord, meaning me, the rabbit.”

“Wouldn’t have it any other way,” the Wolf promised and left.

Last one to drop by was the Bear. He didn’t say a word, simply started to dig through the drawers, taking something out, writing something. With the same silence he took the signet from the Rabbit and stamped some papers with it.

“Listen, Smokey, I don’t mind that you take what you need,” the Rabbit muttered, when the visitor headed for the exit, “but don’t forget that it’s me who’s on charge here.”

“Yeah,” the Bear nodded before leaving. “I remember.”

As the working day ended, the Rabbit leaned back in his chair and pondered:
“I think I make a great leader. The animals are happy, I’ve hurt no one. The Fox has the campaign covered, the Wolves will keep the order and the Bear has some private investments going. But the main point is that everyone remember who’s the lord here.”