Eight

Ðîíàëüä Ëýéíã
How can I help my fellow man, and make
A contribution to the commonweal
If I am bound to make the old mistake
Of taking false for true, fictions for real?

The wise man leaves the world. You can’t be more
Compassionate than take the robe and bowl
In setting off to reach the further shore
You illustrate in action man’s right goal.

My delusion is that I think we’re all
Deluded. Whatever I am going to find
Will have to be another comical
Invention of my self mistrustful mind.

Be calm. No thoughts. Talk is a useless bore.
And silence is another metaphor?

You tell us that it’s by faith alone,
(Itself a gift of grace), we can be saved.
By our own efforts, we cannot atone
For mortal sin. Even the best behaved
Is guilty of the crucifixion. We’ve
No right to expect mercy. Bow down. All
In Adam die. A few in Christ revive
Who are elected to receive His call.
There’s nothing we can do. If we do not
Believe we perish if we don’t believe,
We perish. Either God or Satan’s got
Us in His power since Adam and Eve.
We can’t prevent ourselves being mortified
And get no credit if we’re justified.

I wonder how you are encumbered by
No metaphysical uncertainty.
You do not doubt that we need never die.
You see a meaning in our misery.

You know damnation and salvation are
Not merely products of the human soul.
You think that there’s no evil can debar
The power of God to make us whole.

I hope it’s not my fault I’m such a fool
As not to know whether He is or not
Or if it’s by His Grace that we are grateful
Or if I’ve lost or found the truth I sought.

Maybe nothing is all we need to know
But if it is, O Lord, please tell us so.