Misty Recollection

Надежда Сутырина
Late at night when the twilight was on the edge of transformation into the dead of the night I looked out of the window to take a night air breath and was amazed to see our yard sinking in the haze. The street lamps were on and the white light coming from them was noticeably tangible. No one was passing by. The yard looked so fairy tale like that I suddenly recalled the tale I was scared of when a child.
 We all had the scary fairy tale. And the more we were afraid of it the more we wanted to read it again and again.
 I had two actually: The Black Hen and the Underground Dwellers by Pogorelsky and Little Longnose by Hoffman. In fact the first one is not scary it’s more didactic. But I can tell it now but when a child I was so scared of the Black Hen turning into The Minister of the underground world and beckoning me there. No matter if his intentions were good or else. OMG, I imagined this world…
 So yesterday looking at the misty deserted street I suddenly felt the wave of this childlike feeling when you suddenly experience fear and delight. I thought “Gosh, this is gloomy…beautiful”, I saw no one but the image of the Black Hen vividly tackled my mind. So I quickly pulled the blinds down and jumped into the bed.