The Angel. William Blake

Гималайский Кедр
William Blake
Songs of Experience

The Angel

I dreamt a dream! What can it mean?
And that I was a maiden queen,
Guarded by the angel mild:
Witless woe ne’er beguiled!

And I wept both night and day,
And he wiped my tears away,
And I wept both day and night,
And hid from him my heart delight.

So he took his wings and fled,
Then the morn blushed rosy red;
I dried my tears, and armed my fears
With ten thousand shields and spears.

Soon my angel came again:
I was armed, he came in vain;
For the time of youth was fled,
And grey hairs on my head.

Мой Ангел
 
Мне сон видение навеял:
Была в девицах королевой,
И ангел добрый был со мной,
Но безутешна скорбь слепой...

И я рыдала дни и ночи,
Он сберегал меня от порчи...
Но вновь рыдала безутешна,
От ангела закрыла сердце...

Раскрыл мой ангел два крыла
И улетел... Стыдясь, заря
Цвела без слез, остался страх
Со мной при тысячи ножах...

Вернулся позже ангел мой,
А я с мечами... он слепой...
Несчастной юности изгнанник,
Зачем седины утешаешь?