Fight to the last breath! a short film script

Èðåíà Êðåìåíåöêàÿ
ïåðåâîä "Áîðîòüñÿ äî ïîñëåäíåãî âçäîõà!"

Characters

Man -(45 years-old)he works as a clown
Valery – a girl (10 years-old)
Nurse- a lady (35 years-old)


Present Days.

1   INT.  SMALL ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT. - DAY


It’s a sunny outside, but it’s dark in the room as the curtains are drawn.
A man, dressed in a black suit, white shirt and a tie, stands on a stool, puts his head in a noose while he has this ineffable sadness in his eyes, he's going to commit a suicide. Suddenly, in his jacket pocket cell phone rang.
He does not want to take the phone and answer the call, but the phone does not stop ringing. And the man pulls the phone out of his pocket.

Man
(On a phone, sad voice)
Still in touch?
 (listens)
No, I cannot.
I have other plans. So, find yourself another clown.
(a little bit angry)
I said, I'm busy!
(listens)
(quietly and surprised)
It’s Valerie’s birthday today?
(suppressed)
And I forgot...
(after a pause, and after giving a thought)
Îkay. I’ll be there.


The man hangs up the phone, removes the noose from his neck and descends from the stool.

Man
I have one more important thing.

 
He leaves the room, leaving the rope on the chandelier.

2. INT. CHILDREN HOSPITAL. - DAY.

In the gameroom clown entertains the sick kids, they joyfully laugh, of a nurse is standing in the doorway and is observing everything that happens, she is also smiling. After the performance a clown distributes the figures that he made of balloons to the kids. 


Clown
(saying to a boy)
And this is for you, take it
(to the children)
And now all together come on tell må...
The best cure for all diseases is ..?

Children scream all together
The laughter!

Clown
That's right! Today you have taken a large dose of this medication, so very soon you all will get better.

3.  A FEW MINUTES LATER.

Clown is talking to a nurse in the hallway.

Nurse
(smiling)
It has been long time you didn’t show up here
 You see how kids missed you?

Clown
(sadly)
Yes. I'm just tired of being a clown and I'm was going to quit it. 

Nurse
May such a joyful job be boring?
You do give people joy and laughter?

Clown
(sadly)
 Yeah, I do
(pause)
And where is Valery? Where is our birthday girl?
I have a gift for her. 


In one hand he holds a teddy bear and in another one some colored balloons.

Nurse
(seriously)
I didn't want to tell you on the phone ...
Valery has got worse, she is in coma

Clown
When did this happen?

Nurse
Fife days ago.
And there is are very small slim chances that she will get better
We can only pray and wait for a miracle.

Clown
I believe in miracles, I'm a clown
 Can I see her?

Nurse
I don't know ? She is in intensive care.
In any case she would not hear you

Clown
She will hear and feel that I am around
Please

Nurse
Okay, but not long

4. INT. INTENSIVE CARE UNIT. - DAY

10 year-old girl lays in a bed, she is connected to the life support apparatus  and heavily breathing through the oxygen mask.

The radio on the windowsill is playing classical music.  (Johann Sebastian Bach - «Air» on the G string from Suite No. 3)

The clown with balloons and a teddy bear in his hands is approaching the bed

Clown
 (looking at the girl)
There you are birthday girl! And I've been looking for you everywhere.
 Happy birthday, Valery!

He ties balloons to the back of the bed and puts the teddy bear near the girl.

I brought you a gift.
You know, Sleeping Beauty, I'm sure you can hear me.
Do you remember, I promised you, that I'll teach you Italian?
So I will keep my promise, and when you get better,
I'll come every day to you and we will learn Italian.
(he speaks Italian) 
Si bella? Mia bella Cucciola  io ti adoro!
I just adore you my little girl, I love your laughter, which I recognize with closed eyes even in a big crowd of kids.
(after a pause, sympathetically looking at the girl)
Valery, I know that you fight as hard as you can,
I know that you want to live.
And me, I don't want. It has been long time, I don’t want to live anymore.
(with tears in his eyes)
If only I could, I would give you my life.

He passes his hand on her forehead, a tear is flowing down his cheek and falls on the girls cheek.
Valery, you just don't give up!
You hear me, Cucciola?!
Just don't give up!
We must fight to the last breath!
We must fight!
(He kisses her forehead)

Clown goes to the door, stops, looks back at the girl and says. 

Clown
(speaks Italian)
Ciao Bella!
See you?!

5.  INT.  SMALL ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT. - DAY

The man is standing in the doorway and looking at the rope hanging on the chandelier and at the stool which is under the chandelier.

Man
Fight to the last breath...
(pause)
Right, Valery?
Like you, my Cucciola, I will fight to the last breath

He takes the rope from the chandeliers, throws it on the floor and stares at it.