А. Теннисон. lvii, lxv, lxviii и lxxvi

Эмма Соловкова
                LVII
               
Но тише: эта песнь о нём –
    Печальнейшая песнь земная,
    Наносим вред ему, стеная;
Давай с тобой скорей уйдём;

Ты столь бледна, пойдём домой.
    Прошла у жизни половина;
    Воспел я по нему кручину,
Но, как умру, и труд со мной.

Но до скончанья дней моих
    Мне будет колокол печальный
    Звонить размеренно, прощально
По другу, мне милей других.

Всечасно буду слышать я
    Звучанье колокола въяве,
    Реченье "Аве, аве, аве;
Прощай навек, любовь моя".
   
                ***

Peace; come away: the song of woe
    Is after all an earthly song:
    Peace; come away: we do him wrong
To sing so wildly: let us go.

Come; let us go: your cheeks are pale;
   But half my life I leave behind:
   Methinks my friend is richly shrined;
But I shall pass; my work will fail.

Yet in these ears, till hearing dies,
    One set slow bell will seem to toll
    The passing of the sweetest soul
That ever look’d with human eyes.

I hear it now, and o’er and o’er,
    Eternal greetings to the dead;
    And ‘Ave, Ave, Ave,’ said,
‘Adieu, adieu,’ for evermore.
               
               
                lxv

Душа, святое существо,
   Тебе вверяюсь без остатка;
   Зерно Любви бесценно, сладко -
Просыпать нам нельзя его.

Так утешаясь, петь примусь,
   Пока не вырвется на волю,
   Минуя фазы горя, боли,
На крыльях мысль счастливых уз:

Друзьями называли нас,
   Во мне жива твоя частица;
   Моя частица да вселится
В тебя, пути возвысит враз.

                ***

Sweet soul, do with me as thou wilt;
   I lull a fancy trouble-tost
   With ‘Love’s too precious to be lost,
A little grain shall not be spilt.’

And in that solace can I sing,
   Till out of painful phases wrought
   There flutters up a happy thought,
Self-balanced on a lightsome wing:

Since we deserved the name of friends,
   And thine effect so lives in me,
   A part of mine may live in thee
And move thee on to noble ends.
 

                lxviii

Как Сон, брат Смерти, в ночь ко мне
   Придёт, меня он подчиняет,
   Но Сон, брат Смерти, Смерть не знает:
Живым тебя узрю во сне.

Как ранее, объят тоской,
   Шагаю по тропе росистой:
   Зов раздаётся трубный, истый
Ветров, разбуженных зарёй.

К тебе, друг, в сновиденье том
   Поворочусь я по дороге,
   Узрю в очах следы тревоги,
Подступит к сердцу грусть тайком.

Но прежде, чем покинет луг
   Тот жаворонок, я с догадкой
   Проснусь: нелепый сон украдкой
О горе повествует, друг.

                ***

When in the dawn I sink my head,
   Sleep, Death's twin brother, times my breath;
   Sleep, Death's twin brother, knows not Death,
No can I dream of thee as dead:

I walk as ere I walk'd forlorn,
   When all our path was fresh with dew,
   And all the bugle breezes blew
Reveill'e to the breaking morn.

But what is this? I turn about,
   I find a trouble in thine eye,
   Which makes me sad I know not why,
Nor can my dream resolve the doubt:
   
But ere the lark hath left the lea
   I wake, and I discern the truth;
   It is the trouble of my youth
That foolish sleep transfers to thee.
 

               lxxvi

Взмахни фантазии крылом
    И воспари к небесной сени:
    Взгляни, где звёздные скопленья –
На острие иглы одном.

Крылом прозрения взмахни
    И освети всю бездну мрака;
    Усилия слабы, однако,
Где тис растёт вне суетни.

Коль будет слышать впредь рассвет
    Ту песнь, что тьму разгонит лихо,
    Твоей – зачахнуть в бездне тихо
Спустя всего полсотни лет –

Полжизни дуба: с тех времён
    Предстать ненужною, тем боле
    Когда, лишён опоры, воли,
Разрушится, как башня, он.

                ***

Take wings of fancy, and ascend,
    And in a moment set thy face
    Where all the starry heavens of space
Are sharpen’d to a needle’s end;

Take wings of foresight; lighten thro’
    The secular abyss to come,
    And lo, thy deepest lays are dumb
Before the mouldering of a yew;

And if the matin songs, that woke
   The darkness of our planet, last,
   Thine own shall wither in the vast,
Ere half the lifetime of an oak.

Ere these have clothed their branchy bowers
    With fifty Mays, thy songs are vain;
    And what are they when these remain
The ruin’d shells of hollow towers?