The Butterfly Man

Олег Мингалев
 


He went through all the stages of his grow  thequally concentrated and determined.  At the beginning he was an entire egg.
Then he became a caterpillar and consumed with curiosity, intoxicated with life, devouring everything. After that he became petrified. Suddenly he became indifferent to all. Everything bored him. He could not be bothered to move from one spot to another, and he could not have done so if he had wished it. Then he tired of everything. He sensed  a  great force suring in him – one thought alone moved him – he must  fly. He then  rushed forward, leaving behind his awkward shell.
And now he is supported by wings.
- How joyous it is to flap one’s wings. In a word it was all nothing to him. I am happy and it seems that I am beautiful. Yes, I am magnificent to look at. Where could one fly? Well, anywhere! I adore sucking the nectar, and so I am attracted to flowers. I am happiest when among flowers. I dash out of the colorless backwoods. I am always cheerful. I am a statue of motionless joy.

                1992