Across the TV screen. Part 13

Елена Котова 1
     I gave him a ring. A man responded me, this voice was very similar to his voice, and he was speaking English. As he told me, he was Greek, he would stay here for some days and then he would go to the USA. As the Greek told me, He has left this number. The Greek was very nice to me and asked me, if I would like to visit him. I did not want to make any visits anymore. We said goodbye to each other very politely. I rang off and I wanted to add to my words: "If you are a foreigner I'm Black". I began to deal his number again, but no one answered me. This Greek had an amazing quality – when I wanted to tell him something incorrect, if I say the least of it, he was just out. To have a quarrel, you must have someone to quarrel with. If you do not, there is no quarrel at all.


     I am dreaming. I see him heading a meeting. There are several meetings. I see the place, where these meetings are happening. I see myself coming, sitting there and leaving the meeting. It was all happening in some kind of twilight.
     I have really visited his meeting.
     When I went to the hall I saw what I have seen in the dream: there was a twilight, and there was not enough public for such a big hall. I went there in a very good mood.
     He went on the stage. He was very angry. He criticized the personnel responsible for the lights in the hall. He said that he would not continue the meeting until the personnel turns off the lights as he had asked for. He went of the stage.
     I am waiting impatiently. Will he continue the seance or not?
     Suddenly a young woman comes on the stage and sits on its board.
     She was very curious about my person during the previous meetings and her attention has distracted me. She was always sitting in front of me.
     All the people are waiting: will he come or not? I began to think: whose meeting is it? If it is not he, what am I doing here?
     He went on the stage. He speaks well. He tells that we will play a game.
     All he tells is true, and I agree with it. Nevertheless, something inside of me cannot agree. It is false! It is just false! This false music is coming from the stage. I cannot relax, I cannot digress, and I cannot follow the seance. I felt myself like a meloman listening to the false piano. I am out of breath! I cannot take it any more! I cannot stand it!
     I did not want to show it. However, I was sitting on such a place that it was impossible not to notice it. I stood up and went to the exit. He has seen that I was leaving, that's for sure.
     He continued the seance calmly. However, I have heard clearly his voice sounding in my head and telling me: "Call my home tonight". It has sounded several times in my head. I promised to call. The voice has disappeared.
     I get out from the hall feeling very uncomfortable.
     I have calculated how long the seance would continue, how long would be his way home, and I have called him.  First, no one picked up the phone – he was not at home yet.  I called a little bit later. Once again, his voice had a foreign accent, but it was such a voice as if he had ran all night to this phone. Now, without changing he hurried to the phone. This voice was so extraordinarily tender. I have been listening to it for some time. I have been savoring the "kisses" of his voice. He understood it and did not hang up the phone. He was speaking and speaking... I have dropped the receiver. The balance came to me.
     Taking in view the experience of the last seances, I have solved my problem with the time and I have taken a holiday for a week. This week was necessary to me. All this week, when I was going to bed or when I woke up at night without any reason, I have heard his voice. My brain is waking up and I hear his phrases. I hear them. I hear one phrase more often than the others. Then I fall asleep and as I wake up in the morning, I do not remember literally the phrases but I remember what I am supposed to do.  A whole week it was just the same. It was that week.
     I took this week as a holiday. By the moment when I should take another holiday the administration of my organization suddenly decided to give its staff another free week.
     I had no reason to argue with him, but this week of seances was necessary for our relationship. I wanted to call him again. I wanted to hear him again.


     I have been preparing for this conversation. And it took place.
     He picked up the phone. It was his voice not the foreigner one. After a short discussion at the most interesting moment, he gave the receiver to somebody and I have heard a voice of a young woman. I have never heard her voice before. However, I have recognized her immediately. I called her name and she did not deny it. This woman looked like me. After our conversation she told me that she would give him the phone, but he didn't responded me for so long, that I rang off.
     What a scandal! I was stunned: why has he done that? Why is he treating me so? We can fix it up without arguing, can't we?


     The next day I was late and decided to stop a car. I was standing in front of my house. I get in the car. The driver had a strong resemblance with him but something has changed in his appearance. He has been turning to me many times to look at me. When he has turned away from me, I was turning to him to see whether it was he or not. His face was familiar and not familiar to me. We have been talking all the way and the voice was also familiar to me, but it was not his voice. However, I recognized his thoughts and his competence in several questions.
     Then he asked me some questions, would I like to celebrate my wedding in the village… He has told me his opinion. I saw that he was interested in my answers, that he waited for them. As we came to the place, where I was supposed to be, I told him about one of my old friends from Czechoslovakia, his face has changed, he dropped the wheel and scraped another car. But everything came right.
     We arrived to my office, said goodbye to each other and I went away.


     I did not want to call him.
     However, when I called him later and asked for him, they told me that he did not live there.

     I had a dream. He is sitting here, looking at me, smiling to me and he is speaking and I hear the voice of the Greek, I hear his accent.
     It was his answer to my question: "Who was that Greek?". But I have already known the answer.


     I was watching the film "The Awakening". They had filmed it at the meetings I have already spoken about.
     The place where I was sitting was even not in the hall. They did not show the part of the hall, where I was, that part simply did not exist. They have even filmed the rang at the gallery and of course the places near the stage. My place was also near the stage; the cameras were pointed in my direction for a long time. I have seen the camera so many times, that it was impossible for me not to be on the sequence, but in the film there was no trace of the part of the hall where I was sitting.
     Of course, I have listened to the things that he told me directly or indirectly, to the things that he told about himself.
     He was speaking about the future meeting, which probably would take place. I understood that it also depended on my opinion. I answered immediately that sure it would take place.
     At the end of the film, he covers his face with his hands.