Can you show me where Africa is?

Âàëåðèé Áóåâ 2
An abstract from the story “Personal Projections” by Jayseth Guberman
published in the magazine “Mercator’s World” March/April 1997

Several years ago I was watching a children’s television show with my nephew, who was about a year and a half old at the time.
On the blackened screen appeared an animated outline of Africa. The outline then changed shape several times to form an outline of a lion, an elephant, rhinoceros, and then back to the African continent – each time reinforcing the idea that those animals reside in Africa.
After the program, I picked Jason up and stood him in front of a map of the world hanging on my wall. “Can you show me where Africa is?” I asked.
He took a moment to deliberate this question, then took his finger from his chin and pointed right to the center of the continent, about where Zaire, the Central African Republic and Congo meet.
In the years since, whenever I’ve asked him the same question, he invariably provides the correct answer. Now nine years old,
Jason has, I think, a better grasp of geography than most children in his grammar school. Perhaps this is due to Jason’s innate curiosity or to the quality of educational television. Or perhaps it simply stems from his growing love of maps.

A parody on the story by Valeriu Buev

Several years ago I was watching a children’s television show with my niece, who was about a year and a half old at the time.
On the blackened screen appeared an animated outline that changed shape several times to form an outline of a lion, O’Brien and then back to the bottle of wine
that I had empted not long before. I am not sure for details though.
After the program, I picked my niece up and stood her in front of a map of the world hanging on my wall.
“Can you show me where Africa is?” I asked.
She took a moment to deliberate this question, then took her sharp finger from her chin and poked right into my right eye.

Two weeks later I came back from the hospital with a band still covering my eye and burned down all maps, atlases and even old course of geography I could find at home.

Time passed and vision nearly returned to me but I still hate watching educational programs for children. I do not buy bananas anymore and although I had never adhered racist convictions before I prefer to get across the street when I meet a person
 with a black skin.
Besides I have only take a glass of wine at the party damned question “where Africa is?” always comes to my mind.
Do I really need the answer?