The President is dead Short Play

Руслан Трохнюк
CHARACTERS IN THE PLAY
Hugo Pip
Elmira

SCENE ONE


Hugo Pip and Elmira

A room in a Los-Angeles.  Velvet walls.
 Before the curtain rises, a roaring noise of subway train from the stage.
Elmira turns off the bass combo, goes to the bathroom door, and half
opens it.
Elmira:Owa,kwak,kwa!

Hugo Pip appears in the doorway.

 
Hugo Pip:
Go ahead! Smile! Protest !You see, you can't. A girl like you can't shoot a man like me. Who are you? What do you do in this world?  I have a right
to live and survive; there are things to be done, and I am expected to do them. Give me the machine-gun. [She gives him the machine-gun.] About thepresident, he was running too fast. I missed him [A pause. He puts his arm around her.]  Answer me. Is it true?
The president is dead...Bass, bazz,bazz,zzzz...

Elmira: Yes, it's true. Sad but blue.


Curtain.